Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner

I just finished dinner (not really; just a salad) with my girl and our mutual friend (a former admirer of hers) Black.

Black is a major player (take that how you will) in our hometown; but he took a night off to kick it with us…his homegirls.

It’s an interesting dynamic, in my opinion, when men kick it with female friends. I’ve know Black for more than a decade, but I’ve known him in a different capacity. I spent my formative years as THE tomboy and Black was a part of my crew. A few years ago, my former (male) best friend and I made the ridiculous decision to date. After that relationship crashed and burned, I pretty much left our crew. I still say hi and make the occasional phone calls, but “kicking” it–in any capacity–has ceased.

So now, I’m starting to get to know Black in another way. Not only do I know how he feels about women, video games and relationships from a “i’m-in-a-room-full-of-dudes” point of view, but I know about the intricacies and difficulties he faces in a “this-is-a-sensitive-space” kind of way.

The only thing that I question is why we have to be different depending on our surroundings. Black made my girl and I “pinky swear” to keep a secret he shared. I sensed no real hesitation in sharing the info with us, but I also know –for a fact–that there’s NO WAY he would have shared this with our former all male crew. I’m guilty of similar requests. But seriously, why do we have to change?

Thoughts?

~ by justme1a on October 2, 2010.

One Response to “Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner”

  1. […] Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner (via this is just me…) I just finished dinner (not really; just a salad) with my girl and our mutual friend (a former admirer of hers) Black. Black is a major player (take that how you will) in our hometown; but he took a night off to kick it with us…his homegirls. It's an interesting dynamic, in my opinion, when men kick it with female friends. I've know Black for more than a decade, but I've known him in a different capacity. I spent my formative years as THE tombo … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

 
